Posted by: chocolatequilts | January 8, 2011

Daily Post

 

It is at the other end of the day again, and I did not make my deadline again.

My sister-in-law called this evening and told me about the death (on Friday morning ) of one of my husbands cousins .The cousin was in her late 80’s and sadly she passed away after a long bout of cancer.  The years go by so fast and mind got thinking about keeping in touch with family and friends before it is too late. So I picked up the phone and called an old (as in length of our friendship not our age) and dear friend of mine that I had spoken to since July of 2010. Usually I call her between Christmas and New Years and this year I didn’t get a call in. I got very few calls in this Christmas .With all the stress in my life these days it just too hard to balance my life. Then too, when so many negative things happen I tend to want to shut down. I feel like I am not important to any one else and why would they want to talk me when I have nothing new to say , not much that is positive any how .  Our conversation went very well, although a lot went unsaid.  I do hope she was glad to hear from me. She has got some positive things going on in her life, and in the life of her two adult children and God is working , so that is exciting .

This old hymn has been on my mind a lot these past couple weeks.

It is about the faithfulness of God


Great is thy Faithfulness

  1. “Great is Thy faithfulness,” O God my Father,

    There is no shadow of turning with Thee;

    Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not

    As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be.

    • “Great is Thy faithfulness!” “Great is Thy faithfulness!”

      Morning by morning new mercies I see;

      All I have needed Thy hand hath provided—

      “Great is Thy faithfulness,” Lord, unto me!

  2. Summer and winter, and springtime and harvest,

    Sun, moon and stars in their courses above,

    Join with all nature in manifold witness

    To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.

  3. Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,

    Thy own dear presence to cheer and to guide;

    Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,

    Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!


Thomas Chisholm wrote this  hymn to read more about it click here http://www.suite101.com/content/great-is-thy-faithfulness-a32328

Leave a Reply

Categories

